It’s official: We’re going on honeymoon!

A little late you might say, but as the old saying goes – better late than never.

Ever since we went to the USA a few years ago with a tour group, we’ve been dying to go back. We wanted to go last December, we thought we’d go this December, and then an opportunity came to do it early, in summer which really makes a whole big difference. And we’ll already be there… this time next month!

I’ll be honest with you. It was far from an easy choice. I have one of my best friends’ wedding in Australia this year, and as of this week, a friend in Israel’s wedding too around a similar time. My best friend is getting married in Joburg in June, and another best friend of ours in New York in the summer, which is kind of what egged us to bring this trip forward. So in one trip we’ll manage 2 weddings. It’s so hard when you have to choose and make decisions like this. It was a really tough decision, one that still plays on my mind sometimes, but thankfully, my friends are amazing, and well, we might be across the world from each other right now, but please God we will reunite someday. I mean, that is the plan ultimately.

Anyway, we are terribly excited. We have visas, Greg is waiting for his passport and we’re doing our final bit of money saving before getting foreign exchange organised. We’ll be visiting New York and LA to stay with and see friends, and just – go on adventures! Here are some of the things I’m looking forward to doing:

Los Angeles:

  • Reuniting with friends and seeing their lives
  • Disneyland
  • Universal studios
  • Visiting the Magic Castle, an exclusive club for magicians. This has been on Greg’s bucket list for years!
  • Kosher food!
  • Beaches
  • OK, we haven’t fully discussed our schedule with our friends, we know there are many more things she’ll be taking us to. But guys – DISNEYLAND!
america_disneyland1

DISNEYYLAAANND! I even have Minnie Mouse ears ready.

america_universal

I keep forgetting these places are theme parks. Have I mentioned I’m so excited to go here, but terrified of roller coasters?

New York:

  • Seeing our friend, and being at his wedding
  • Walking the streets of Manhattan
  • China Town and Little Italy
  • Broadway! I am desperate to see Wicked, but my bank account says others. Otherwise, Daniel Radcliffe (from Harry Potter, don’t judge, this is my entire childhood!) is performing in a new play, which I am very tempted to see too.
  • Times square. Obviously. Which includes the M & M, Disney and Herscheys stores
  • america_times-square-day

    I can’t explain how wonderfully overwhelming this place is. We love it.

    america_wicked

    i’m dying to see this show. Like, really dying. And I think I may have even found some “reasonably” priced tickets – hurrah!

  • Perhaps a little shopping
  • More kosher food.
  • Walking the Highline. I’ve been told it’s amazing, it was an old railway track turned into a beautiful walkway.
  • Walking the Brooklyn Bridge
  • Greg want’s to visit 770 in Brooklyn, the central headquarters of the worldwide Chabad-Lubavitch. I mean, it’s not really my scene, but we’ll check it out.
  • Take the Staten Island Ferry. We’ve been up the Statue of Liberty, so taking this free boat ride for the view is a good one.
  • Picnic and walks in Central Park. I found a tour online around the park relating to scenes from movies which sounded pretty cool.
America_highline

A friend told me about the Highline. I just love how it’s this beautiful park, elevated above the city.

America_Staten_Island_Ferry

We’ve been up close and personal with Lady Liberty, so a free ferry ride to snap some photos should be sufficient.

America_770

770 in Brooklyn. It’s really just an address.

America_Brooklyn_Bridge_as_seen_from_FDR_Drive_in_Manhattan

The Brooklyn Bridge! They say it’s a really great walk, and guys, I’m all about being a tourist here.

Central Park foliage photo-walk, Nov 2009 - 10

Ah, central park. I cannot wait to enjoy leisurely walks and picnics with you.

  • Perhaps the Lego museum exhibit, maybe Ripleys museum… I need to do more research on attracttions.
  • Museum of Natural History. I don’t think we’ll be going to galleries, I went to the MET last time, saw my Jackson Pollocks and had a photo outside the Guggenheim, so I think I’m good.
  • Grand Central Station, maybe even catch one of the tours.
1832_Grand-Central-Station.jpg-628x250

The very grand, grand central terminal.

  • The New York Public Library, if time allows.
  • An Improv Show. I found some places with some great sounding stuff. Links here (this one is in LA too, so maybe we’ll catch a show there), here (I love the sound of this one!) and here.
  • A free walking tour with Free Tours by Foot. They offer tours of Central Park, Grand Central, even photography and graffiti themed tours.
  • I found this thing called Accomplice New York. It’s a mix between a murder mystery (and if you didn’t know, I held an epic one for my birthday party last year), theatre and a walking tour. It’s a little pricey at $80, but if we have the time and money it’s something I wouldn’t mind trying! Actually, this is something Greg is really keen to do.

OK, the more I research and compile this list… the more I feel there’s no way we’re going to do all of this, so will probably have to visit again🙂 (Which, I’m totally ok with).

The time has really creeped up on us. I mean, we’re leaving in 4 weeks today! I seriously just can’t wait for a little bit of travel, a lit bit of friends a whole LOT of adventure!

Leave a Reply

