DIY: Exploding Box Card

So for our anniversary, neither of us landed up spending big monies on fancypants gifts. We went the “sentimental” and a little more meaningful route and made each other things. Yknow, something that takes a whole lot of time and effort and really means something at the end of the day. We were cooped up in separate rooms for days, each crafting our little hearts out (and the fact alone that Greg was making something crafty was taking me by surprise!)

So I found the most wonderful tutorial for what is called an exploding box. Basically, you take off the lid and boom – it basically explodes with the awesomeness you put in.

2014-03-12 20.52.26 2014-03-12 20.52.46

You can follow this link for a very detailed tutorial. Lucky for me, I had everything I needed at home (I have a ton of scrapbooking stuff I just never have time to use). The only thing I bought was my very first 3 rolls of washi tape (R60 from Mr Price home!) and I had a lot of fun experimenting with that, felt like I was finally part of the cool kids.

Anyway, it’s a super easy little tutorial, for a freaking awesome gift. You can fill the many, many sides with whatever you want: quotes, photos, reasons you love a person, personal jokes, the opportunities are literally endless. I put things like the Hebrew quote from our wedding invite, and the quote he based his speech on, as well as tons of photos. It’s pretty epic.

2014-03-12 20.55.382014-03-12 20.54.52 2014-03-12 20.54.10 2014-03-12 20.53.50 2014-03-12 20.53.36 2014-03-12 20.56.12

I’m sorry the pictures are so awful. I took them on my phone and then edited them, and I’m not sure whether they look better or worse – someone needs to teach me to use my camera. Anyway, I was (and still am) super chuffed of the result. It’s something personal and romantic and also pretty cool.

And now I need birthday present ideas for husband. If you have any feel free to throw some “for him” gift ideas this way😉 I hope this gives you an idea for your next big personal memorable milestone. If you’re the crafty type, I promise this is something you’ll love.

Let me know if you give it a try🙂

Leave a Reply

