The Street Store is hitting Cape Town

Recently I’ve been having a lot of those I-don’t-have-anything-to-wear-days. And I’m so not one of those girls, and my cupboard is far from empty. For some reason I’ve been keeping clothes that are years and years and years old (as in, I probably bought them in High School) in my cupboard, with the thought process that I can only buy more once I get rid of them.

The truth is, I haven’t worn many of these in months (or years), so I really have no need for them. And obviously, I’d much rather give them away to someone who can still gain benefit from it than simply chucking it. Enter: The Street Store.

the street store cape town 03

You may have seen people talking about them on twitter. The concept is simple. It’s the world’s first rent-free, premises-free, free “pop-up clothing store” for the poor, found entirely on the street and curated by the public – that’s us (you included)! Donated clothes get hung up in the streets, and those less fortunate help themselves to some clothes that would otherwise have just sat in our cupboards unused.

The Street Store Cape Town

This incredible initiative is happening tomorrow, Tuesday the 14th of January.

Drop your clothes anytime between 6:30am and 7pm on Somerset Road, De Waterkant outside the Salesian Institute.

Easy guys. And no excuses of “office hours” because they’re open til 7pm. You even have time to grab dinner before or after in the area. Let’s go clear out our cupboards tonight, I’m pretty sure you can find at least 3 items that someone could benefit from.

The Street Store 02

2 comments on “The Street Store is hitting Cape Town

  1. Chava Canales says:

    That is a great initiative. It would probably never happen here. When you donate your clothing, the charity turns around and sells them. Gotta love thrift stores. Good for you to clean out your cupboard (same as closet, right?)

    • This will be the homeless who are “buying” from the street store. I’m very interested to see how it goes🙂 And yes, cupboard, closet, wardrobe… all the same (I think)🙂

Leave a Reply

