4 things I’m looking forward to doing on the Garden Route.

We’re finally going on holiday tomorrow, driving up to Knysna along the Garden Route for a week! I don’t know if I could be more excited. We have wine packed, copious amounts of meat for braaing, vegetables for Africa and 4 geared car to get us there😛 It’s funny because for the greater part of the last 7 or so years I’ve spent along the Garden Route. Usually I would be running a camp in Mossel Bay, and a couple of times I’d been with my family on holiday in the Wilderness or driving the whole route down to PE.

I never understood people who went to the same place year after year, but if you’re like us, you’re going to find different things to do on each trip! Here are some of the things that I can’t wait to do!

1. Knysna Elephant Park

knysna-elephant-park-elephant-back-rides

I don’t know why, but I have the maddest urge to ride an elephant. On a school trip with Greg at the last school he worked, we got to walk with, touch and feel elephants (which I totally recommend if you’re not into riding one), but I’m just dying to ride on one. People just say I should go to Thailand, but I don’t see myself there in the near future, so why not just do it now?

For more info visit the Knysna Elephant Park website. Bookings are required.

2. Beaches

The truth is, Knysna doesn’t have it’s own beach so either way it’s a little bit of a drive but nothing tragic. It’s all part of the roadtrip experience, right? We loved Buffelsbaai last year, and can’t wait to check out Noetzie (pictured above. Can you even believe  those astles?!) as well as beaches further out like Plett and the Wilderness.

3. Picnic at the Jubilee Creek

We’re huge picnic fans. So the Jubilee Creek looks like the perfect spot. Forest, grass, a little creek to put your feet in. It looks lovely. And you can also braai there. I definitely want to try check this place out if we have time. For more info, check this link.

4. Boating along the Keurbooms River

keurbooms

Well, if you don’t own a boat to take out to see when the feeling strikes, you may as well grasp the opportunity when you’re on holiday. I’ve done this before, but never just Greg and I, and I think it would be so much fun. Sea, boat, picnic, sun, and trying not to get stuck in the sandbanks.

These are some of the things I’m looking forward to doing, but I don’t want to plan the entire holiday. It’s a time for relaxing, not strategic planning. There are so many more places to visit and activities to do, perhaps I’ll do a round up in the near year. For now, all I want to do is lie on the beach far away from bustling Cape Town.

I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and a fabulous New Year. Bring on 2014!

 

One comment on “4 things I’m looking forward to doing on the Garden Route.

  1. […] trip to Knsyna along the Garden Route was full of sun, beaches (a little getting burnt), holding snakes, beautiful viewpoints, lots of […]

Leave a Reply

