6 Thoughts: 5 days in to my 365 project

I’m all of 5 days into my 365 Project. That means 360 days left and I’ve completed 1.37% of this project. Daunting, much? Jokes aside, I’m enjoying it so far (under a week of it!), and the response has been great from my twitter audience, Facebook friends, instagram, Jewish and non-Jewish. It’s been kind of eye-opening.

But it’s gotten me thinking. So here are well, some thoughts:

1. I’m only 5 days in??

Will I be able to stick this through? I also only have a certain number of  scarves – am I going to run out? Is it ok to repeat? How creative can I really be? I also only have certain amount of clothing and this isn’t a fashion project, so I’m not going out to buy a whole new wardrobe.

2. Already feeling creative

On the plus side, I’ve already been a little more creative trying things I haven’t tried before. It may be out of fear that I’ll run out of ways to tie/scarves, so I may as well try something different now so that my usual styles won’t get old too quickly.

3. A Selfie project

This is something I’m kind of struggling with a little. I don’t want this to be a “selfie” project, and I don’t want it to seem like a vanity thing. That’s why you’ll see that in most pictures (by most it means 4/5) I’ve hidden my face by my phone and taken it as a selfie in the mirror. I kind of like it (and I like my cellphone cover). It’s also difficult to not look awkward smiling at yourself or too angry/sad, I can’t quite get that elegantly-looking-off-to-the-side thing going.

4. Am I doing this right??

This is more of an online logistics thing. I’m currently posting on twitter, instagram and a Project 365 page on my blog. Today I posted a picture to my personal Facebook profile, and while it has gotten a lot of likes and comments – will it not be spammy in a couple of days (or weeks)? Should I be uploading it into an album? Or should I just create a separate Facebook page purely for this project? Goodness, I don’t even have a hashtag (and do I need one?? I mean, for instagram at least?). I’m worried about the page element on my blog. It’s currently a gallery, but I’m worried it might get a bit long and extensive even a month down the line (let alone 12). I’m thinking of doing weekly blog post updates – is that perhaps the best way to do it? I really just want to find the best medium of getting this across without spamming my different friends across different platforms (and trust me, they all work so differently). Gosh, I work in Social Media, surely I’d be able to figure this out?

If you’re a Facebook friend please – would you feel spammed if I posted this every day? Guys, is it too much to create a Facebook page? I’m really struggling with this. (And may this be the biggest struggle I have to deal with in my life). I’m overthinking it, right? right.

5. Tutorials?

I’ve been asked by a handful of people already if I could do some video tutorials. I don’t know how I feel about this for so many reasons. Firstly, I hate the sound of myself recorded (I realised I sound like a 5year old girl when I uploaded an instagram video of Greg and I while we lit our Channukah candles. Also, I am incredibly inspired by a woman who has a blog all about scarf tying. I’ve learned so much from her blog, Wrapunzel, that I’d feel like a bit of a cheat creating my own videos. At the moment, I’m just directing people to her.

6. all about apps

So I thought I’d look for a phone app to help me keep track of  the days and put them all neatly into a calendar format, but I struggled to find one. The one I’ve been using has just been a bit annoying. I want to say maybe I need a new one, but it’s just more of a mission. I’m so worried about which platforms to post on, I don’t really need another redundant one.

Also with apps, I’m kind of editing my pics (by edit I’m really just adjusting the contrast, cropping and adding text) using an app called PicsArt. It does a lot of cool things, and I’m definitely not using it to it’s full capability yet, but maybe I will for other things. I’d love to buy the A Beautiful Mess app, which costs all of $1. It’s all sorts of beautiful. I’m just too lazy to add my card details to the app store, incase I click things by mistake.

Phew.

Anyway, so that’s where my thoughts are at regarding this project. I’d really love to hear feedback from you, and I know a lot of you read this because you tell me so when you see me, so your input would really be greatly appreciated.

Bathroom selfies for the win. PS don't tell me colleagues

Bathroom selfies for the win. PS don’t tell me colleagues

Have a super Wednesday everyone🙂

Leave a Reply

