Project 365: It starts today.

I’m sorry guys, I just couldn’t wait until January 1st! I actually started yesterday, but wordpress was giving me issues, so this post is a day late. I’d thought about it, and figured it could just be too daunting to start in the new year. Oh, the pressure. So why not start a month before and ease into it? I thought that was the best way to do it, and also I’d already be into it by Jan time when I’m on holiday.

So, what are we doing?

I’m going to be documenting my headscarves for the next 365 days. This isn’t a fashion thing.  It’s not a big deal, and I don’t know if this will appeal to all of you. It’s really a way for me to push myself creatively, easily, in my day-to-day life. Covering your hair can be difficult, especially when you like to coordinate and match your clothes somewhat, no more “natural” coloured hair that matches everything. I’m hoping this will help me try different colours, different colours together, different textures, different styles and really just play around with it.

I want people to see that covering your hair isn’t about being conservative, or hiding a “beautiful” part of yourself. My scarves/tichels/mitpachot/however-you-wish-to-call-them are incredibly beautiful, and I actually think they enhance Lee-Ann in a very lovely and modest way. If you take pride in it, like I do, you can really look incredibly beautiful even without your hair. Believe it, it’s true.

So without further ado, I present day 1/365:

project365_day001

And because wordpress was giving me issues, day 2/365:

project365_day002

I’ll be documenting my journey on instagram, so you can follow me here and I’ve added a page to my blog titled Project 365. I’m still working it out, it might land up being a gallery on that page, I’m not sure, so I do hope you’ll give me a little window period while I work things out. See, that’s exactly why I needed to start on Dec 1st instead of January 1st😉

Let the journey begin.

4 comments on “Project 365: It starts today.

  1. […] all of 5 days into my 365 Project. That means 360 days left and I’ve completed 1.37% of this project. Daunting, much? Jokes […]

  2. […] done it! I’m a whole week in to my project. Have a look at the roundup from the past […]

Leave a Reply

