A baked a-what?

So there seemed to be much fanfare regarding the dessert I posted yesterday, which I made for Friday night. It was a baked alaska, looked very impressive and was actually particularly easy. I mean, you may have gathered that I’m really no baker or masterchef in the kitchen, especially when it comes to baking and I seem to have this nasty little habit of trying new recipes when I’m having guests over. That can go either way.

Anyway, so Greg’s cousin in the UK, at the tender age of 13, is an incredible baker with probably more talent than I could ever dream of having. She sent me some magazines with her parents when the last visited and I found these magazines the other day hidden between my other recipe books.

With this on the cover, I had to try and make it.

BakedAlaska01

So here is everything you need

For the ice cream:

  • 175g fresh raspberries
  • 700g vanilla ice cream (I made this parev/non-dairy, so you can just use your favourite non-dairy ice cream recipe)

For the chocolate sponge base:

  • 75g softened butter/margarine
  • 75g caster sugar (I don’t know the difference between all these sugars. So I used icing sugar)
  • 1 egg
  • 50g self raising flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder

For the meringue:

  • 3 egg whites
  • 150 caster sugar (again I just used icing sugar)
  • 25g icing sugar for dusting (yeah, I skipped this part)

Now let’s make it!

BakedAlaska02

  1. Crush your raspberries with a fork and mix them in to the softened ice cream.
  2. Line a round bowl with cling wrap and put your ice cream in it to set.
  3. Preheat the oven to 180. Put all the sponge ingredients into a bowl/food processor and zjoozj (or if you’re like me, mix it all in a bowl with a wooden spoon and hope for the best), then bake for 15 – 18 minutes.
  4. Now we assemble! Set your oven to 220.
  5. Make your meringue by whipping the egg whites until soft peaks form and then gradually  beat in the sugar, until it’s nice and glossy.
  6. Put the circle of sponge cake down, and tip out the ice cream on top of it. Rather make the sponge base bigger than your ice cream because you can always trim it down (and yum, bits of cake to nibble on)
  7. Now, cover the entire cake/ice cream concoction with meringue. The meringue will basically act as an insulator and stop the ice cream from melting when your place the whole thing in the oven.
  8. Put in the oven for 6 – 8 minutes until browned.
  9. EAT!

BakedAlaska03

bakedalaska04

OK, so zero points for food styling (I’ll get there), but it’s pretty delicious. And looks impressive too, and if dessert isn’t about ending your meal with a bang, well then, I don’t know what is.

Do let me know if you try making this, I’d love to hear your feedback.

One comment on “A baked a-what?

  1. […] experimenting with new recipes here and there. Particularly when they involve dessert. I made a baked alaska last week, which my guests found super fancy and I even had a friend make one the following week […]

Leave a Reply

