Then and Now: Anne Frank’s Amsterdam

Do you also feel that you’ve been transported to another universe when you watch a black and white old movie, or looking through some vintage black and white photographs?

Sometimes I find it a bit difficult to relate to. I wasn’t really into history at school, was one of the few out of my friends who didn’t take the subject. Confession: I hated Jewish history. It was my worst subject at school. I’d say I still have nightmares about it, but that would be a bit of an exaggeration. Don’t get me started on the Holocaust, it had been taught to us at school so many time that by the time I went to Poland on my gap year I was worried I’d be a bit apathetic. Don’t worry, I wasn’t.

Anyway, so I found something cool and historic that even I can appreciate, and felt I’d really like to share. I really love the concept of “Dear Photograph” (if you haven’t heard of it, please follow the link), so much so that If I celebrated Christmas it would probably be #1 on my list and I felt that this was a kind of digital version of that.

We’ve all heard of Anne Frank, right? Maybe you’ve even read her diary (I haven’t. Maybe I should). A talented visual designer named Michael Danckaarts created this digital-scrapbook-of-sorts called Anne Frank’s Amsterdam where he took old photos from Anne’s lifetime during the Holocaust and superimposed them onto modern day Amsterdam. It’s a funny juxtaposition, everything looks “normal” and happy I guess, and you’re really reminded of what this is when the colours of the sky move from blue to grey, and the trees from green to brown.

Enough from me. Have a look at these and let me know what you think.

Toen en Nu Anne-Franks-Amsterdam02 Anne-Franks-Amsterdam03 Anne-Franks-Amsterdam04 Anne-Franks-Amsterdam05 Toen en Nu Anne-Franks-Amsterdam07 Toen en Nu

(Read more about this here or here or here)

Leave a Reply

