Does this seem strange to you?

I’ve been gymming in the mornings again. It feels a lot easier when you’re awake at the same time as the sun and not before it. I forgot how good it feels that by the time. I guess by default you naturally also feel much more awake when by the time you leave for work you’ve been awake for 2hrs. The hard part is without a doubt getting up. Once you’ve done that, it’s pretty much easy sailing.

Anyway. I digress from my point. You’ve heard before about how I cover my hair for religious reasons (I promise that one day I’ll write about it. It would be quite a post to tackle). So for gym i cover my hair with a plain scarf, but after I shower and I’m getting dressed for the day at work – out come the accessories, scarf (sometimes even two or three) etc.

LLGG01

If you think what you see on the outside is quite elaborate, it’s nothing on what’s underneath. First, I put a velvet headband on my head – in essence, it’s just a thick strip of velvet that prevents the scarf from slipping back (no more relying on hair clips and scarves slipping off your head. Awkward). Then I wear a volumiser. It makes it looks like theres a hellava lot more hair under my scarf than there really is (sometimes I wonder if I should keep these a secret, so people think I have the longest, thickest, curliest, loveliest locks ;)) The volumiser is kind of like a cap thing, with a pillowy part, it kind of reminds me of Smurfette’s white hat – especially when I wear my white one. I even add an extra scarf inside scrunched up to give it a little more solidity. Then comes the scarf, or often, scarves. I wrap, I twist, I tie. Different colours, patterns, textures, weights – there’s really such variety. Finally I’ll add a clip, a ribbon, a bow, an alice band. All done.

And then you get the final product.

LLGG02

It takes a good couple of minutes, but I’ve really started to enjoy it and how it looks. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t miss my hair. Especially in a gym changing room, where I actually get to see myself with my hair down. And this is where I begin to wonder – what do other people thing of this? How does this look to you?

Because why would a young girl, with long, beautiful curls choose to hide her hair like this? Or even a girl with scraggly hair? (or any female human?) Why would anyone do this? Would your first thought be for religious reasons? Is it to be trendy? (I’ve actually been asked that before. True story). Aside for that, what about this weird ritual of under-accessories? In all honesty – if you saw someone like this at the gym, doing what I do every day, what would you think? I’m sure you would be at least a little bit intrigued, if you don’t find it a bit odd (I’m pretty sure that’s exactly what I would think!)

So this is what’s been going around my head recently, and it’s not in an embarassing way – I in no way actually care about what people think about this choice of mine. I have my reasons for doing this, I think I do it rather beautifully and I actually really like it. But it just makes me wonder, especially if I’m sharing mirror space at gym, what these other ladies think about this crazy chick.

Tell me, what would you think? (ps. this is a safe space. No judgement)

LLGG03

13 comments on “Does this seem strange to you?

  1. wannabepoet says:

    I think that you look absolutely beautiful, in both your profile picture and your pictures with your head scarf. At the end of the day, screw what other people think; do what you want to do and what makes you feel beautiful and what you feel is right🙂

    • Aww, thank you SO much!🙂 It’s not that I care what people think about me, I’m just so curious as to what people’s initial reaction would be – if they even have one. Thanks so much for stopping by🙂

      • wannabepoet says:

        Well, I didn’t know that it was for religious reasons, until you mentioned it🙂 and even if I knew that it was, so what you know? I saw your pictures and just thought to myself “ok, this lady likes head scarves” nothing sinister, nothing ugly, nothing silly. That was the random thought that popped into my little head🙂

      • If you had to watch me put them on – you’d probably have a giggle at the long process and hidden accessories😛

      • wannabepoet says:

        Yes, it does seem a rather long and involved process! Heehee😉

  2. Kirsty says:

    Lee, I had no idea you were hiding all of that under your headscarf!

    While we’re on the subject though, I do have a question. I presume that modesty has a lot to do with why Jewish women cover their hair, within the religious explanation, but I’m confused as to why you are allowed to wear a sheitel? Why you are not allowed to show your own hair but you are allowed to wear someone else’s hair, which most non-Jews would presume was your own anyway?

    • Oooh, big question that unfortunately I can’t answer in it’s entirety (I wish I could). I’ve heard people say that just because it’s a modesty thing it doesn’t mean you can’t look beautiful. If I had one, I’d probably wear it for Shabbos or weddings. I think it also comes down to your own standards and what you hold by. I think. But I’ll do my best to do some snooping for you.

      • Kirsty says:

        Thank you! I like learning new things🙂 There’s a woman at my gym who I presume is Jewish, though I’ve never spoken to her. She gyms in a headscarf, long sleeved top, long pants and a skirt over it. I respect her dedication and stamina, I think I’d pass out after ten minutes.

      • And that’s why I gym in shorts… *ssshhhh…*😉

  3. When I first met you, I thought it was strange to cover your hair. The Jewish gals in Joburg don’t, so I didn’t understand. I saw pictures of your beautiful hair then I REALLY didn’t understand. But as I got to know you and how passionate and sincere you are about your beliefs, I found your head scarves to be beautiful because it stood for who you ARE and that you put something in your heart ahead of your vanity makes your bows, scarves, nets, bands and bows incredibly honest, feminine and beautiful. You also have the coordinating with your outfits DOWN.

    • Thank you Tash, you’ve really nailed it in that comment. Trust me, growing up I NEVER thought I’d cover my hair (I didn’t even realise people did this!) When I got engaged I had a panic attack whether to cover, how to cover, how much to cover… and once I made my decision (eventually) with what I felt was right to me, I’ve really begun to love it. It’s hard sometimes, but I do love it. x

  4. Andrea says:

    I’m curious as to whether this means you can never wear your hair down again? Is it a life long decision? And are there times at which you do wear it down, i.e. when your at home?

    • Yep, it’s a commitment (well, for as long as you’re married, which I plan to be… ha). As a religious, married lady though, I’m ok with it. I guess I’ve learnt to really like it. But I certainly can wear it down when I’m at home alone with Greg. It’s a modesty thing, keeping it “only for your husband” and stuff. Thankfully, I still feel pretty without my hair showing. It shows a lot what effort and pride in your appearance can do. That was a bit of a ramble. Let me know if you have any other questions and I’ll try my best to answer🙂

Leave a Reply

