We might be different, but we’re also a little bit the same.

So if you know me you’d know that I cover my hair for religious reasons, as a Jewish married gal and all. In (very) short, its a modesty thing and no one other than Greg gets to see my lovely locks. Girls cover their hair with anything ranging from hats to scarves and even human hair wigs we call “sheitels”. I’m not sure of the exact rules, I think I can show it if I’m only around girls but I guess it depends how comfortable I feel in a given situation. As weird as it all seems, I’ve gotten quite comfortable with covering my hair and have a great collection of beautiful scarves. Today isn’t quite the day to go into this issue, but it’s the starting point of something I realised last night.

hair_unmarried

Before…

Untitled-1

…after

I was at gym last night (as we often are) and I saw a Muslim woman in the changing room, also with her hair covered. Somehow I somehow felt a sense of comradery with her even though no words were exchanged (I dont even think we made eye contact). There have been so many times I’ve been at the gym, changing scarves (because I actually keep separate ones for gym) wondering who I’ll bump into. I don’t really care if they see my hair, but it is a bit of a strange feeling. Its like only the select few who gym can see this. I felt so similar to her at that moment, trying as modestly as I could to get changed into my gym clothes (because even though its a gym changing room, I don’t need to parade myself).

And I guess it hit me then. We’re very different in many things, and there are things I’m sure we’d disagree on. But here is one thing that we would understand about each other, that not many other people would. And far as modesty goes, I guess its pretty personal. I gym in shorts, something you wouldn’t see another frum (religious), married, Jewish girl doing (they might wear skirts over tights). I also go to a mixed gym, with men and women (gasp!) – also not always done. My shorts are baggy and so are my tshirts, but you’ll always see me with my hair covered. I guess that’s just my thing.

I can’t really explain it, or the reason behind what I’m writing, it’s just something that I think I felt in the moment, and somehow needed to express. I doubt she even noticed, or thought anything similar along the long of what I’ve just written (hey, I could just be overthinking things here), but I thought it was interesting to note. Sometimes, when you’re doing something that’s so “different” from a lot of the “world”, it’s nice to know you’re not the only one, and that your motives are somewhat in alignment. So despite the differences, we’re also a little bit the same.

7 comments on “We might be different, but we’re also a little bit the same.

  1. Zsa says:

    So much respect for you, Lee, for living out what you believe in a world that probably gives you flak for it. We’ve never met but this post made me feel like I know you.

    • Zsa, that is by far the most meaningful and heartfelt comment I’ve ever received. Thank you so, so much. I don’t usually write much “deep stuff”, but this was just a thought/realisation I thought I needed to share. Who knows, maybe one day we will meet🙂

  2. […] in Honour of God, and that it is appropriate modesty for a married woman to cover her hair (Thanks, Lee Lipman.) The vast bulk of the bell, however, belongs to Jews who call themselves “cultural” or […]

  3. […] I digress from my point. You’ve heard before about how I cover my hair for religious reasons (I promise that one day I’ll write about it. It would be quite a post to tackle). So for gym […]

  4. Renee Lander says:

    Hello🙂 I am a Noahide and not married but I am choosing to cover my hair for G-d and myself🙂 I am having trouble covering the hair that is the back after I’ve wrapped the two ends around my ponytail and tucked them in. I will hopefully learn how to do that. G-d bless you and have a wonderful Shabbos!

  5. […] in Honour of God, and that it is appropriate modesty for a married woman to cover her hair (Thanks, Lee Lipman.) The vast bulk of the bell, however, belongs to Jews who call themselves “cultural” or […]

Leave a Reply

