What Disney are REALLY trying to say.

Disney have often been berated about their politically incorrect-ness, especially in terms of the Disney Princess. I don’t remember the reasons, but I do remember touching on the topic way back in one of my many film classes at University. There’s actually a spoof animated “reality TV” show, called Drawn Together (which I really recommend, though not quite for conservative viewers). One of the characters is a spoof of a Disney Princess, and gosh she says some of the stupidest things.

Anyway, so when I saw this online on one of my very favourite blogs, Hurricane Vanessa, and simply could not help but share this. I posted a series not too long ago about what if Dr Seuss books were named according to their underlying messages. It’s interesting to look at these messages, at every one I nodded internally to myself in agreement. While I could recognise  these messages I’m sure children wouldn’t. I don’t know if this is something they would notice, or consciously pick up. I don’t know how quickly kids pick things like this up, so it would be interesting to note whether a little child would get the notions about “make overs” and “changing for your man” as some of these posters show.

While those are more “serious” I did have a laugh at the Lion King and 101 Dalmations. The Lion King being compared to Hamlet – genius. Now I need to go brush up on my Shakespeare, to fully appreciation this comparison.

disney01

disney02 disney03 disney04 disney05

One comment on “What Disney are REALLY trying to say.

  1. […] What Disney are REALLY trying to say. (leelipman.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

