When your kitchen smells like chocolatey goodness.

Now, I’m really no expert baker, and far from a domestic goddess. I’ve tried my hand at brownies many times, and failed miserably at each (how I can get such a simple dish so awfully wrong, I still don’t know). I can kind of make cupcakes, I can kind-of-less ice them nicely. I’ve tried some fancy cookies off pinterest, but those never went as well as I would have liked either (Though Greg always seems to like them). The only thing I seem to bake well, is Challah. But it’s not quite a cookie, or a piece of sweet goodness.

So I’m not entirely sure what made me decide to make biscotti last night. I pinned the recipe ages ago on pinterest, the social network has somewhat lost it’s appeal to me, yet I stumbled upon it yesterday afternoon while debating what to bake for mothers day. It seemed easy. I had the ingredients. So I decided, “why not?”. The fact that we were having friends for dinner sure didn’t get in the way.

It wasn’t difficult, though I managed to make quite a bit of mess. How wrong can you go with a biscuit that is meant to be a little harder and dryer than most? I managed to find almonds hidden in the cupboard (I will not divulge on how old I think they were…). I don’t think I got the consistency quite right though. It called for 3 small eggs (I’ve never seen “small” eggs) so used 2 large ones instead, maybe I needed more. The mixture seemed a bit too dry and I was left with a small mound of cocoa/flour/sugar/choc-chips/almond (non) mixture at the bottom. It was a little difficult to form into logs, but they turned out really well I think!

Greg wasn’t as “overjoyed” as he usually is, it’s because he “didn’t know what to expect” in terms of texture. I guess it’s just a dry, yummy biscuit. But I really liked it. And so did my friends, who helped me polish most of them off🙂

Biscotti! Not bad for a first time. Totally making these again! #baking

A photo posted by Lee-Ann Lipman Gelb (@leelipman89) on

Chocolate Almond Olive Oil & Whole Wheat Biscotti

(see, it’s even kinda healthy)

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups plain flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cups top-quality cocoa powder {I’m buying Nomu cocoa from now on!}
  •  1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3 small eggs, at room temperature {I think next time I’m just using 3 eggs, regardless of the size)
  • 1/8 cup extra light olive oil
  • 3/4 cup vanilla sugar, or plain granulated
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 vanilla bean, scraped {optional}
  • 1 cup almonds, toasted and very coarsely-chopped
  • 3/4 cups chocolate chips 
  • For the glaze
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 sachet vanilla sugar {I didn’t have this, so I just sprinkled some icing sugar over}

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C. Line a cookie sheet with baking parchment.
  2. Sift the flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt in a bowl.
  3. In a large bowl, beat together eggs, olive oil, sugar, vanilla beans and vanilla extract.
  4. Fold in the dry ingredients, followed by the toasted chopped almonds and chocolate chips until well incorporated, and the cookie dough comes together.
  5. Divide the dough into half, and form into logs using slightly damp hands. Brush with egg white and sprinkle with vanilla sugar. Bake for 25 minutes or until the dough feels firm. Remove from oven and cool for 15 minutes.
  6. Slice and place sides down on the cookie sheet and bake for 20 to 30 minutes, turning the baking sheet midway during baking, until the cookies feel mostly firm.
  7. Cool completely and store in an airtight box.

I’m really looking forward to trying these again!

(source)

Leave a Reply

