Sunsets and Spontaneity

I wouldn’t quite call us the “spontaneous” type, but on Tuesday we “spontaneously” decided to go up Signal Hill after work to watch the sunset, eat some snacks, and hang out with some of our friends (by “spontaneous”, I of course mean that I thought of the idea the night before, approached Greg about it in the morning, and planned the logistics the rest of the day). For us, a day’s notice was pretty spontaneous.

It was really such a pleasure. I’ve always loved Signal Hill and Greg and I used to go there every now and then when we’d just started dating (almost 4 years ago). We never planned it so well every other time we went, and landed up always being cold, or it would be too windy to even take food up, because your plates, food and selves get completely blown away by the wind.

But on Tuesday evening the weather was so perfect. It was warm, with very little wind. As we snacked on popcorn and naartjies we watched some guys as the started paragliding – it looked like such fun, even though I am far from that adventurous. But I decided one day it’s something Greg and I should really do. No rush, we have plenty years to pluck up the courage.

The sunset was so beautiful and we spent time with two very close friends of ours. They’re down from Israel for a year working in South Africa, and we’ve become incredibly close to these two. They’re leaving in the next couple of months, so it was great to take some time just the 4 of us. I know it’ll be a pretty special memory when we reunite in Israel one day in the future.

With a sunset so beautiful, it was difficult not to take photos. Which resulted in a mini-photoshoot. I used to always carry my camera with me, but it’s so big and bulky and the pictures don’t come out as good as I like (possibly because I don’t know how to use it properly, or because I’ve found my camera on my phone actually takes really pretty pictures). I just find it so much easier to take pictures on my phone, the only downside is that I can’t enlarge the pictures if I ever wanted to print on canvas or something. To be honest, I think these are some of the most beautiful photos I’ve taken in a very long time.

It was great to get outdoors at a time where Greg and I are usually at the gym. We became really good at taking selfies that evening, which Greg and I barely used to do considering we have becomes besties with our camera tripod and self-timer over the years.

I know winter is rearing it’s ugly head, but I really hope to be able to more “spontaneous” and do fun things like this in the near futures. It’s small moments like this that make great memories.

signalhill03signalhill01 Signal Hill Cape Town

Sign

2 comments on “Sunsets and Spontaneity

  1. dear me says:

    Great pics Lee:) These spontaneous days with friends are the best. Day 2 and I’m already a bit behind with my photo challenge because I was supposed to photograph my morning ritual but didn’t know till I checked a little while ago!

    • Ah, thank you Tash🙂 It’s only day 2 – I give you permission to switch days 2 and 3😉 or to do a double post tomorrow. Maybe I should try next month… I just don’t see myself being creative enough. It could be cool considering I’ll have an overseas trip… I think you’ve just inspired me in my ramblings🙂

Leave a Reply

