Surprises in the post.

You can’t really call it a surprise, if it’s something you ordered yourself can you? Either way, there is something so terribly exciting about getting a delivery! Even though you get emails to say when your order has been approved, payment has been received and your parcel dispatched – you still don’t know. Placing an order online is like sending a mystery prize to yourself. A gift with love, from me to me. And the subsequent arrival is just so… exciting.

I’ve placed a handful of online orders recently, and the arrival of each has had me terribly excited (overuse of the root of the word “excite” much?). We got a voucher for a photobook for our anniversary from Greg’s mom, it was an overseas company and took a bit longer than expected to arrive. Getting that little slip from the post office was such a relief, and after a little trip to the post office and a long wait in the queue I was absolutely gushing at the result. With photobooks, you know what you’re getting (I mean, you designed it yourself) but it’s something else seeing the real thing! I’m considering writing a post on our little book.

Our photobook has FINALLY arrived!!😀 cc. @the_GregGelb

A photo posted by Lee-Ann Lipman Gelb (@leelipman89) on

Last week there was loads of discussions of books going around blogs and twitter, and I landed up ordering 2 books I’d been meaning to buy for ages. I got an email from Loot yesterday afternoon to say it had been dispatched and that it should arrived in 2 working days. Lo and behold, this morning my little delivery of happiness arrived at my desk.

My books left @lootcoza yesterday and arrived this morning! Thanks @midlandsmusings & @raising_men for these recommendations!

A photo posted by Lee-Ann Lipman Gelb (@leelipman89) on

Both of these books are meant to be super great, so here is the brief summary off the internet:

The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared: It all starts on the one-hundredth birthday of Allan Karlsson. Sitting quietly in his room in an old people’s home, he is waiting for the party he-never-wanted-anyway to begin. Slowly but surely Allan climbs out of his bedroom window, into the flowerbed and makes his getaway. And so begins his picaresque and unlikely journey involving criminals, several murders, a suitcase full of cash, and incompetent police.

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close: In a vase in a closet, a couple of years after his father died in 9/11, nine-year-old Oskar discovers a key…The key belonged to his father, he’s sure of that. But which of New York’s 162 million locks does it open? So begins a quest that takes Oskar – inventor, letter-writer and amateur detective – across New York’s five boroughs and into the jumbled lives of friends, relatives and complete strangers. He gets heavy boots, he gives himself little bruises and he inches ever nearer to the heart of a family mystery that stretches back fifty years. But will it take him any closer to, or even further from, his lost father?

Extremely Loud is meant to be incredible and my boss has been trying to get me to watch the movie for like… months. I finally watched the trailer and decided I had to read the book. So here I am with it in my possession. But I really recommend watching the trailer.

Amazing, right?

My last delivery should be coming in a week or so. Our favourite board game of all time Settlers of Catan, was sadly misplaced during our Knysna trip in December. It’s a really incredible strategy game if thats something you’re interested in. But this game costs a bucket-load of money and I was super bleak that we’d lost it. In comes the amazing Exclusive Books sticker system – basically, I placed a sticker on a product I like on their website (product being Settlers) and once it reached 500 stickers it goes on sale! 25% off (for 24hrs)! PLUS Fanatics discounts and we got ourselves a bargain!

Settlers_of_Catan-p2

When this big box arrives, I’m going to be a very happy lady.

Settlers fans will understand this reference :)

Settlers fans will understand this reference🙂

And now my bank account is asking me very nicely to stop buying things online.

UPDATE: Settlers arrived in the post the very next day after writing this post. It was expected only in a weeks time, so I am crazily impressed with Exclusive Books right now.

GUESS WHAT JUST ARRIVED IN THE POST?! #SettlersOfCatan

A photo posted by Lee-Ann Lipman Gelb (@leelipman89) on

One comment on “Surprises in the post.

  1. […]  laugh. It’s also no secret that I’m a fan of fun board games. Having just recently (re)bought Settlers of Catan, and already owners of bananagrams, Rummy, Set and Scrabble… we make ourselves kind of […]

Leave a Reply

