The Reading List | My (current) Top 10 Books

I’m ashamed to admit that I’ve been struggling to put this list together. It’s made me ponder my love and history with books, and I’ve spent a lot of time trying to compile this. It hasn’t been difficult because I can’t choose my 10 favourite books of all time, but because I’ve struggled to even think of 10. I looked at my bookshelf and had to look beyond my Harry Potter’s and Hunger Games (don’t worry, no Twilight). Some of these I really read years ago, and came to mind while I was racking my brain for titles. The types of books I read have changed over the years, so the list could be seemingly random.

Recently I’ve found that my favourite “book genre” are books-that-get-made-into-movies. This is what I have named my genre anyway. Not because I watch the movies and decide the book is worth a read, but surely if a book is good enough to get picked up for a movie – it must be really great? It’s how I’ve decided on a lot of books.

top 10 books

Holes – Louis Sachar: This was one of our setwork books in grade 8. It may not be the most adult book, but I loved this story and always will. It tells the story of Stanley Yelnats who is sent to a correctional facility in the middle of the dessert after accused of committing a crime. There, they dig hole. “To build character.” He builds relationships, “character”, and pieces of his personal history unfold so beautifully in connection to

The Time Traveller’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger: I’ll be honest, but I haven’t even finished reading this. I’m about halfway, and enjoying it so much. It can’t not make this list. Henry time travels, and has been meeting Claire throughout her life as he jumps through time. I’ve been told the ending is incredible.

Just One Look – Harlan Coben: This is the first Harlan Coben book I ever read, and I think it was the best one. If you like crime/thrillers – this is your man. A woman picks up a set of newly developed photographs and sees among them a picture of her husband before she knew him, with someone else. When he sees the photo her husband drives away, and she needs to confront the dark corners of her own tragic past she struggles to learn the truth, find her husband, and save her family. Biggest page turner of my life.

The Help – Kathryn Stocket: You’ve all seen the movie. I read the book ages after the release, and the movie even later. I loved this more I can explain. There isn’t much to tell about this, but if you’ve seen the movie and loved it – read this.

Save Me – Lisa Scottoline: This is one of my most recent reads. A mom has to make a huge decision when an explosion goes off at her daughter’s school while she’s on lunch duty. Does she save her daughter, hiding in the bathroom, or her daughter’s bully standing next to her… her actions causes an uproar in her idyllic suburban community

The Lovely Bones – Alice Sebold: Another book turned movie. Susie is brutally raped and murdered by a man in her neighbourhood. She watches from heaven as her family and friends’ lives move on, how people come together and drift apart, and how she’s always sort of with them.

Want to Play – PJ Tracey: An online computer game comes out to much applause. Suddenly, the same murders from the game are taking place in real life, and a copy-cat serial killer is on the loose.

The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini: This was also a set work book, and one I thoroughly enjoyed. I was really nerdy and would try read our set books before term started. The story tells the relationship between Amir and Hassan, who grow up as best friends. Things happen. War happens. And life changes.

The Rabbi’s Daughter – Reva Mann: I don’t really read Jewish books, but I got hold of this one while on my gap year in Israel.  Mann, granddaughter of the head of the Rabbinic Council of Israel and daughter of a highly respected London rabbi, was a wild child. Rebelled and spiralled into the world of sex and drugs by the time she was a teen. It opens your eyes to the world of the ultra-Orthodox.

White Oleander – Janet Fitch: I read this book in Middle School after catching half the movie on TV. I cried (and I don’t cry from books or movies). It is a powerful story of mothers and daughters, their ambiguous alliances, their selfish love and cruel behaviour, and the search for love and identity. Astrid has been raised by her mother, a beautiful, headstrong poet. OK, I took that description off the internet because I couldn’t write it better.

It’s funny, when I started this list this morning I wasn’t too sure I’d be very proud of it. It seemed a bit all over the show. Looking over it now, I really like it. It makes me want to read each of them again, and I wish I had copies of them all. I do apologise for my below average descriptions, I probably should have rather grabbed them off the internet.

All the other lovely ladies have got their book lists out, so I urge you to have a read. I already bought 2 books online yesterday off Tash and Keri’s lists – both I’d been eyeing out for ages and figured “eh. why not.”. So I did. Have a look at Raising Men, Midlands Musings, The Jolly Jammer part 1 and part 2, Clever Bird Banter and Dear Me, I’m sure you’ll find something to your taste on one of these lists. Thank you Keri for starting this, and for getting some awesome girls to share their love of books with one another!

Note, that 6/10 books have been made into movies, and I’ve only seen 2 of them. See what I mean about my favourite book genre🙂

8 comments on “The Reading List | My (current) Top 10 Books

  1. Kirsty says:

    I have read five of the books on your list and LOVED them. I had forgotten about White Oleander, it’s fantastic.

  2. shira says:

    יהיה מעניין לקרוא את בת הרב. מעניין אם יש לזה תרגום בעברית. אגב, לדעתי, עשו על זה הצגת תיאטרון (יש הצגה כזו בת הרב, שאפילו ראיתי), אז מ- 6 ספרים עשו סרטים, ומאחד עשו הצגה, גם טוב🙂

  3. Halfway through ‘The Time Traveller’s Wife’? I’m so excited for you, such a BEAUTIFUL story!! I’ve also read 5 of your books… that ‘Save Me’ looks like something I need to dig into soon! Lovely post x

    • Thank you🙂 I loved your too, some great reads to add to my list! Save me was super, I picked it up at the Exclusive Books sale for R40! Love, love, loving Time Traveller’s Wife – so far it’s everything everyone has said it would be🙂 x

  4. Thanks for this lee, muchos appreciated. You didn’t do badly at all in the end! I must read White Oleander – it’s on my to purchase list🙂 Thanks so much for being a part of this. Honeymoon, come NOW.

    • Don’t read *too* much on Honeymoon😉 There are sights to see, food to eat and wine to drink! Really enjoyed putting it together – got the ol’ cogs working. So thank YOU!

  5. […] week there was loads of discussions of books going around blogs and twitter, and I landed up ordering 2 books I’d been meaning to buy for […]

Leave a Reply

