Dream shelving by IKEA.

So in all the browsing I do on Pinterest (I admit, it’s not as often as I used to be. I really only use it for work. Yes, I use Pinterest for work, I’m cool like that) I’ve come across some awesome pieces of furniture by IKEA. As far as I know they’re pretty run of the mill, staple furniture supply place in the States. I’m pretty sure you buy the pieces and construct it together at home.

Either way, I’ve seen some really cool things you can do with their stuff and so many creatives thing you can do with a simple bookshelf/ves.

These are 3 1x4 shelves, the one turned on it's side and painted with chalkboard paint.

These are 3 1×4 shelves, the one turned on it’s side and painted with chalkboard paint.

This 5x5 shelf is amazing. I love how they use baskets for storage, there's space for books, ornaments and you can even make custom "doors" out of art.

This 5×5 shelf is amazing. I love how they use baskets for storage, there’s space for books, ornaments and you can even make custom “doors” out of art.

I like the variations they have. 1x4, 2x4, 5x5 - it just allows for so many options.

I like the variations they have. 1×4, 2×4, 5×5 – it just allows for so many options.

Two book shelves on their side, with a custom pillow thing made and you have some great benches with storage underneath!

Two book shelves on their side, with a custom pillow thing made and you have some great benches with storage underneath!

They used some coloured canvases on hinges to make doors. I love the colours!

They used some coloured canvases on hinges to make doors. I love the colours!

Aren’t they awesome? I was super bleak you can only get them in the states until  I saw that in fact you can get them here in SA, imported by Nevada Furnitures! And they’re hardly even expensive.

We kinda recently got this big old school wall unit from my parents (because you know, they were upgrading, and by upgrading they of course mean minimizing ) so this isn’t in my near future. But I hope to one day when we eventually own our own place and have plenty space to be able to buy one/some/many/all of these awesome pieces.

Have a look at what I’m lusting over:

ikea expedit 1x5, 5x5 Ikea lack shelves

I want, I want.

Leave a Reply

