Some Design Indaba goodness.

I know it’s a little late, but I went on Sunday. I like to go every year, and was super bleak when we couldn’t go last year as it was right after our wedding and things were still a little crazy. But we got there this year! Prebooked our tickets and everything (in order to avoid queues on the day), it may seem a little over-eager but if you saw those queues, you’d know what I’m talking about.

This was my first time going with money and my first time going as a “wife”. It means that the things I was looking at just exapnded. Before I’d look at great design, inspirational things and things that were pretty. My horizons were also opened to cute little home decor and dishes and home-nesting-prettiness-stuff. Now I could actually buy these things (yay for being a working girl!)

Sadly, I didn’t find anything that grabbed me so much that I forked out for it. I’m kind of regretting this, but luckily a lot of it can be ordered online, so I’m not too behind. There’s a reason Cape Town was chosen as design capital of the world for 2014. Here’s only some of what I found:


DI_bellareatheI have been lusting over these rings from BellaReathe for months and just haven’t gotten around to buying one online. I hoped that maybe I could find one on Sunday, but either she wasn’t selling these or if she had been, they’d been scooped up days prior. I will buy myself one, I’m just too in love.

DI_dearrae

I’m also so in love with these rings from Dear Rae. I think I’m oddly obsessed with the heart motif… I love the silver/copper/brass heart rings, and kept trying one on every time I walked past her stall. Would have bought any of these beauties, I really don’t know what stopped me. I think I love rings until I try them on me. Y’know, and then your ugly fingers ruin the look of a dainty ring. le sigh.

DI_greengrassdesigns

These pictures cannot grasp the awesomeness of this stall. Green Grass Design practically laser cut everything, and it’s all just so cool! Above see their baabaa sheep memos, i dream/wish/love pebbles, a dog/shongololo ruler (a shongololo ruler!!!) and helvetica and garamond stencils. Those stencils are too cool. I only realised when I looked online they were helvetica. Either way, I came out with a cool free key ring.

DI_alternate

Now this gal, Deana Alter, is so super talented. All her jewellery is inspired by car parts. That’s right. I am obsessed with those rings on the right, but I guess she was sold out by the time I got there because I never saw them at her stall (these pics are off her Facebook.) The rings on the left (I am seriously considering making an order. Absolute love) are made from shattered windscreen glass! Talk about unique! I asked her how she got the glass, and she said she grabs all the glass she can find after car accidents… whoopsy.

DI_quirkyme

This was my favourite stall of all, Quirky Me. I told Greg I’d buy these moustache cups if he’d drink his tea out of them, but he claimed they wouldn’t be heat resistant (which I don’t get, because I don’t think any of our mugs at home are). Well, he lost out on his own temporary moustache. I also almost (actually) bought the cutest set of placemats, with a fried egg design on them. I was too in love. Then I reminded myself we have a perfectly good set of placemats (and that’s saying something, because keeping kosher means we actually have two sets) and they’re too pretty to be wasted on a Pesach set. Behind these mugs, please see a glimpse of the Supercalifragelisticexpialido… you know how the rest goes. That print = love.

There was too much awesomeness at the Design Indaba. What was your favourite? Buy anything super fancy or special?

4 comments on “Some Design Indaba goodness.

  1. Kirsty says:

    I the Supercali print! I saw it too, wanted it so bad. So so bad.

  2. deana says:

    Leeeeee you too kind! Thanks so much for the sweet words!! remember huge discounts for friends :-)))))

  3. […] Some Design Indaba goodness. (leelipman.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

