We Made It: Our First Wedding Anniversary <3

engagement ringToday is our first wedding anniversary. One year ago today, I spent the morning running around with my friends getting hair and making up done, posing for some lovely photos, standing under the chuppah with my greatest friend, and dancing the night away at the biggest party with the biggest vibe I have ever attended.

I can’t believe how the time has flown.

02lee-ann -6404

You know that feeling you get on New Year’s Eve? “I can’t believe a whole year has gone by. So fast. Again!” and then you start to wonder what you’ve achieved in the past year? That’s kind of what it feels like on  our first wedding anniversary. A whole year has gone by, I can’t even begin to believe it! Except there is so much we have done, learned, experienced and achieved.

03lee-ann -7806

It partly feels as if it were yesterday; we all remember it so clearly. Yet at the same time it feels like it’s been this way forever. Living together, doing mundane things like groceries, cooking dinner and paying rent. Maybe the fact that we’ve settled (hey, it took time) shows how good things really are. We’re lucky to eat three real meals a day (or more! And not just the toasted cheese many assumed we’d live off), have a flat to call our (kind of) own, and each have good jobs. Among many other things we are very lucky to have.

07

08

What I love more and more about relationships is that you just never stop learning about each other (which makes sense if you think how much people grow and learn about themselves as each day goes by). This year we have gone through some of the toughest times. There were fights, there were arguments, and plenty stresses;  but they were all learning curves and we’re so lucky that things that could have drawn us apart, has only brought us closer together. That in retrospect it seems like a great accomplishment in and of itself.

09lee-ann -33210
An element of it really is being married to your best friend, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. When you wake up together, want to share the latest/greatest/most important news with one another (which to others may or may not be great or important at all), be the first to tell them a secret, tell them your deepest darkest fears (or slightest concerns). They’re the person who’ll love you forever no-matter how silly you dress, fat or wrinkly you might get (one day), they won’t judge the rubbish tv you watch or music you listen too, whether you talk in your sleep, forget to wash your plate or fart in the middle of the night. They’re the single most important person to you, you make each other better people, and you always strive to make each other happy.

11

I woke up feeling oddly emotional today, which was really strange for me because I didn’t even shed a tear at the wedding. I was too happy and too excited for what was still to come. Greg joked and said it was my emotions catching up with me, but I think the difference is that then I was excited for what was to come without really knowing what that was (you prepare yourself, and think you know, but no-one can really prepare you for something like this. It’s really one big learning curve). Now, a year later, I know a little bit more about what marriage really is than I did on my wedding day. It may only have been a year, which seems a blip on the radar of what’s still to come, but I’m looking forward to the years ahead  filled with smile, happy memories, good times and learning we have lying ahead of us.

9 comments on “We Made It: Our First Wedding Anniversary <3

  1. Kirsty says:

    Congratulations Lee! And your photos are so beautiful, you looked so happy🙂 love the dress and the red elements. stunning.

  2. Logan Lo says:

    Great pictures – and my wife and I celebrated our anniversary recently as well – congrats!

  3. CONGRATULATIONS!! and HAPPIEST anniversary! hope you had an amazing day celebrating!🙂🙂 it looked like such a happy wedding! (i love the tongue pic!)

    • Thank you so much! I’ve gotten many comments about that pic, but none as kind as yours😉 You clearly have LOTS to look forward to! Good luck with the rest of the planninngggg!

  4. […] joy), have booked for Cirque Du Soleil and just confirmed our tickets to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary at Madame Zingara! So many exciting things happening. Sometimes, you really gotta just count your […]

  5. […] University with a degree. I’ve gotten a boyfriend, dated, gotten engaged and subsequently married (I mean, we’re about to hit the 2 year mark early next year!). We both have good jobs and are […]

  6. […] year I was so emotional hitting our one year anniversary. It seemed like a big momentous occasion. I even cried when Greg gave me my gift (a bracelet from […]

Leave a Reply

