The joys of reading, and new books.

I’ve always loved reading, and was a huge reader when I was a kid. I remember reading every Roald Dahl and Enid Blyton book in Primary School. When I was in grade 3, and 11 years old, my dad bought me Enid Blyton’s 3-in-1 Faraway Tree stories and I wolfed it down like a very hungry person. Fond memories indeed.

Faraway Tree Stories, Enid Blyton

OK, the image is small and blurry, but this is the exact cover I had. And I’m going for nostalgia here.

From the end of Primary School all the way through to High School though my reading was mainly dominated by the Harry Potter series, the last one coming out halfway through my matric year. Since then, my reading for leisure kind of was at a stand still. There was no time with University, and when I was studying English, I resented reading old books I didn’t even vaguely understand (I subsequently dropped English for other courses).

Thankfully, being out of varsity, and being encouraged by my husband who is a big reader, I’ve reinstilled my love of reading. Yesterday we popped into the Exclusive Books Summer Sale and were so happy to pick up a couple of reading treasures. I’d go into more detail of what we bought, but I’m too excited to read The Lovely Bones which I picked up for a measly R40. I’ve always wanted to see the movie, but never got round to it, hence further excitement to read it.

The Movie. Which is apparently very good.

The book.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, please excuse me while I sit at my desk during my lunch break, like a bit of a nerd, and enjoy my new treasure.

One comment on “The joys of reading, and new books.

  1. Susan says:

    Aahh, the Faraway Tree series brings back so many memories. I loved it when I was little although I can’t remember much of the story (makes me feel so old) except someone called Moonface and the kids having to dodge washing water. It was a magical story!
    Buying books is the best and discovering the story within the pages is even better. Enjoy!🙂
    Susan

Leave a Reply

