If I Had a Christmas List.

Well, I don’t of course. But now that I’m permanent at work and earning a “big girl salary”, I suddenly feel like I can actually buy things I like (even though my taste seems to have gone up in price along with my salary).

Naturally, being grown up and newly married getting more money every month will include taking over payments my parents have been helping me with (yknow, big important things like medical aid and our monthly landline bill). We’re lucky that we don’t have cray expenses or a very lavish lifestyle, so there will be money left over to put into savings (because we do want to buy a home one day, or take an overseas trip. Responsible adult, right here!) and of course, do some spending when things we love come up.

And I have found a handful of things that I would really love to buy myself (aside for the usual clothing splurge, or brownie ingredient, now that my cocoa is being confiscated). So I thought I would share with you all some of the treasures available.

Kissing Couple Ring with Heart, R230

I love this ring from local online boutique Utique, which sell the wares of plenty local designers! I’ve never been much of a girly girl, and really not a jewellery person. I have those few pieces that basically don’t come off (charm braclet from Greg I got for my 21st, necklace with my name in Hebrew, and my engagement ring) There was even a point where I didnt want an engagement ring, but rather a watch. Well, I do love my ring.

I have a friend who is always wearing really cool rings though, so we have decided that when she finished exams we’re going jewellery shopping. I have a feeling that rings of this price range were never really going to be in our price bracket… But just come on and LOOK at this thing!!

Moustache & Lips Throw Pillow Cushion Cover, R390

Another item which I have been looking to buy for the longest time are these pillows from Zana. I really love the whimsical look of pillows like this, and when you’re renting a furnished flat, you really need as many little things to make it feel your own.

We currently have these ugly blue couches, with even more hideous beige African styles scatter cushions, and I really feel these would make a great addition to our lounge. Or bedroom, they match that too.

You can buy the set, or just lips, or just the ‘stache. Or even ones with “Mr” and “Mrs”, but I kinda like these ones.

Dear Photograph, R285, Exclusive Books

There’s this really cool website called Dear Photograph, you have to check it out. Basically, they also have a coffee table book, and now that I have money to spend… well, it just seems like something worth spending on.

I spent some time wandering a bookshop over the weekend and felt that books are really something I should invest in more.

(Granted, said coffee table at home doesn’t have much space to put anything on. Our F.R.I.E.N.D.S and History of Disney coffee table books sit on a stool in our bedroom. They are far too cool to be sitting there, consider this a mental note to move and display them in the lounge)

You can buy this locally at Exclusive Books, and I really don’t think the price is too hefty for such a great book.

 

Okay, so my list may not be very long, but these are some very lovely things that I wouldn’t mind getting my hands on. It’s nice knowing that I actually have funds to spoil myself now. Totally proud of myself and my very first official job.

One comment on “If I Had a Christmas List.

  1. That’s a really cool list – Christmas is fast approaching so I hope your loved ones are reading thisπŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

