Brownie Diaries

After being bitten by the “baking bug”, I suddenly had the constant need to bake.

My first choice was cupcakes. Especially the decorating part (who in their right mind can resist a pretty cupcake??). But as scooping mixture into muffin trays became time consuming, and I completely sucked at making icing, I turned to the one bowl wonder that is – brownies.

The standard brownie recipe I got from Greg’s cousin (which is also straight out of the Yeshiva College cookbook) has worked for some, but sadly not for me. For some reason, even when undercooking it, I couldnt seem to get that gooey brownie good-ness.

Image

What I did try after a few tried (a la Pinterest, of course), was to swirl in some peanut butter with the mixture before baking. Looked good. Tasted good. Yet still wasnt the brownie I was looking for.

Image

Then I kinda got really adventurous. Queue the . (super delicious. Even when sticks to the baking sheet, and you decide to eat it anyway – baking sheet included)

Red Velvet Cheesecake Brownies

Tonight I finally found the brownie with that perfect consistancy. Cripsy on the outside, soft snd chewy on the inside. (Apologies for the Blackberry quality image. It really doesnt do the taste of it any justice!)

Amazing Fudgy Chocolate Brownies

Here is the recipe, from my friend Kay.

  • 3/4 cup of oil
  • 1/2 cup of cocoa
  • 1 cup of white sugar
  • 3/4 cup of brown sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1.5 cups of flour
  • 1tsp baking powder

Mix together the sugar, cocoa and oil, once mixed add the eggs. Finish by adding flour and baking powder. Bake for 45 minutes.

She said she usually does 1.5 x the recipe into a disposable foil dish. After baking, she suggests turning the oven off and leaving them inside for another 5-10 min. Then you take them out, let them cool, and enjoy the chewy choclatey good-ness of this delicious brownie.

2 comments on “Brownie Diaries

  1. […] posted about previously, I have recently started baking. Not because I find it therapeutic, or because I enjoy making a […]

  2. […] got them right once. But only once (ironically, the first time). With the same damn recipe! It could be that I’m […]

Leave a Reply

