We Sum it Up in a Status

“Facebook asks what we thinking. Twitter asks what we doing. Foursquares asks where we are. The internet has turned into a crazy girlfriend”

I found this online recently (interestingly as someones Facebook status) and found it amusing, albeit a little bit true. We are all connected to a number of social mediums and networks, personally for me those include Facebook, Twitter and BBM. All of these as the quote says above, asks you a question: where you are/what you’re doing/thinking etc. My question is, when we are connected to so many different networks – what makes us decide what to put as our “status” on each of these mediums, as opposed to any of the others?

Personally, I can’t stand it when people upload the same status or update on different mediums, which is what I’ve realised a lot of companies/brands/businesses do on their Twitter/Facebook pages. Yet for them I kind of understand the reasoning that all their fans or consumers may not be on every network, so for them it is all about reaching your audience.


When we blog, tweet, facebook or update our BBM who are we trying to target, and what are we trying to tell them? I haven’t quite worked this out as a science, but I have a few short thoughts:

BBM is a small elite social circle. I only allow into it the people that I actually communicate with somewhat regularly. I dont update my status on BBM particularly often, but its often more like a short statement as opposed to Facebook or Twitter where I have more characters at my disposal. Basically, BBM is for my real friends.

Twitter and Facebook are different yet the same. I am still unable to understand myself even why I put which status on either social network. I have very few friends who actually use Twitter, and a good handful of my followers are randoms, whereas on Facebook I have a good 500+ “friends”. The difference on Facebook is that people actually see my status, so I try not to update it too often and be annoying or write about rubbish. On Twitter I dont have even a quarter as many followers as I have “Facebook Friends”, but I somehow enjoy the microblog element and updating the sometimes mundane or quirky things that happen in my day – even if theres no-one who’s really going to read them.

Conversely, I have friends who I hardly see on Facebook because they constantly update their BBM status, or others that prefer Twitter ti facebook. Its just interesting to see who finds their niche on which platform. When something happens to you that is “status worthy”, on which platform do you update them?

Leave a Reply

