My First Website.

I’ve been working on this website all semester. It consumed me of my time, my life, my happiness and my tears. By the time I handed it in to be marked I could not look at it for another second. Ever.

Yet today in my procrastination for exams, I decided to take a look at it again. In a way I kind of missed it. All those hours sitting in a freezing lab in the basement of a building, battling with a mac computer and endless amounts of code, McDreamweaver and I became very very close.

By the end of it all and looking at the final product I’m rather proud of what I have achieved. Those close (or even not-so-close) to me, perhaps even everyone on Facebook, knew how much I hated this course. I couldn’t stop complaining because it just killed me. But as I look back, its nice to have something a bit more tangible than just a good mark to show your progress and achievement.

Back in early August, we had white web pages scattered with boring Times New Roman. We got to grips with CSS, the coding language responsible for appearance on web pages, it really was a lot more difficult that you think! Especially when you are getting next to no help from your tutors, and having to work everything out on your own. Thank God for friends. We got each other through, and even with so little help at the end we came out on top with our marks. Something to be proud of.

I hope you like the site. Every little detail and element is placed where it is by code, you actually have to tell things where to go and what to do once they are there! What we were mainly working on this semester was a Photography website, where I focused on UCT. The layout may not be perfect on various monitor sizes, it was optimised for the Macs in the lab. In future I plan to think ahead for smaller monitor sizes.

Enjoy🙂 Hopefully you’ll see more wonderful (and hopefully more advanced) websites from me in the future (: For now, I’m still learning.

Leave a Reply

