More than just a social network?

Raise your hand if you don’t like facebook?

Liar. Chances are you found this link on facebook (well, if you’re one of my “facebook friends”, that is)

I was at the movies tonight, as I am sometimes known to do and on came the trailer to The Social Network. I remember when I first heard they were making a facebook movie. “…really?” And I tried to visualise people acting to a script, overusing the word “poke” and talking about their “friends” writing on their “walls”. But thats not what the movie is about.

The story is more about the road to facebook. Zuckerbergs creation of it, and everything following that. I’m yet to see it, as it has not come out here yet. I don’t know what other people think of it as a movie, but personally I am quite interested to see what is made of it. The trailers have done a good job thus far.

Its interesting to note how social media has infiltrated our lives, society and culture. It is hard to imagine the world without it and so many companies, businesses and marketing strategies are incorporating it. To look at how it has shaped the consumption of traditional print news media, the processes and collection of news, and relationships between people.

Yet there is one thing that springs to mind when I think of this movie:
How much of a central point is facebook in our lives, that it deems to be made into a feature film?

 

Leave a Reply

