God’s Favourite Toy

I dont know how many of you had a childhood like mine, spending hours building things out of lego, making them perfect and not even wanting to take them down. I even remember my dad getting me this pink little island styled set which was awesome and came with pink umbrellas and this swivelling chair thing…

Anyway – a friend of mine posted this link on facebook and I thought it was funny enough to share with everyone else🙂

Imagine if God had a childhood (if He had a childhood that is) like many of us, which included the world of lego. This site, The Brick Testament shows much of the Bible/Torah depicted out of lego!!

I dont mean to offend people by this, as I’m sure there are some religio people out there who would take much offense to this as a mockery or get in an outrage because the verses are not exact, blah blah blah. Eh. As a fellow ‘religio’ myself, I find it funny. So have a laugh. I’ll be honest, I haven’t had a chance to check out all of it yet (unlimited cap has not yet set in in my household) but what I’ve seen has caused a bit of a chuckle. I think its a bit much to check out AAAALLLLLLL of it, it is a bit much (and besides, we all have university/school/real work to do, right?). There really is an absolute fortune, and if I had the patience for each picture to load as opposed to viewing a gallery beforehand, I would probably have checked out a lot more. Its very extensive in terms of content. Maybe find a favourite story, ok, I acknowledge not everyone has a favourite Bible story, but at least one you’re familiar with! Maybe start with Adam and Eve, everyone know about them🙂

Adam & Eve

In all honesty I think what this guy has done is great. Weather you agree with his replication of the Bible or not is another story, but just think of the time and effort taken for each shot. Aside for the technicalities of the camera, and how actually creative each shot is – think about the menial labouriousness of place each and every piece just right? Mission. Though such dedication. I honestly really admire people who can set personal projects or goals up for themselves and achieve them, especially while having fun!

Lego is such an underrated toy. I dont know how many kids even play with it anymore with things like Nintendos, Playstations and Wii etc. All the digital things trumping all the “old school” toys which encourage imagination. No one even watches Barney these days I dont think, who was king supreme of using your Imagination! Or at least thats what I remember! I dont even think we own any lego fpr my little brother to play with, though lucky for us we’re limited on the wii, playstation etc and the kid would rather hang around playing guitar (he’s 9).

Some of the things that are done with lego are so simply awesome. Yeah so these things probably took forever to do, but hey, hard work and dedication is a trait hard to come by.

So if you’re a bit nostalgic now go find that old box of lego and build something. Or better yet, check out The Brick Testament, it doesnt involve the tidying up that lego always did😉

4 comments on “God’s Favourite Toy

  1. emokid3 says:

    kids definitely still watch barney.
    we dont have lego at home either, but we do have these things called planx which are basically little planks of wood (bout the size of jenga pieces). dont think it gets more old school than that.

    and a note on personal projects: i mean , they’re cool and everything. just think people need to get a life. (i should talk) (damn now i feel guilty.. better get to that novel iv been meaning to write)

  2. Games PS3 says:

    Thank You for the Great information.😀

  3. i never had lego, i had duplo which was very similair to lego except the pieces were bigger, and playmobile. ooooo playmobile was so cool.

    i agree, people can make incredible things out of lego. in england, i think, theres a lego land, where is the mini city made out of lego. i so want to go there one day.

    i have no problem people who make ‘art’ out of lego, or dominos or race scale electrix proffesionally. saying get a life is a bit harsh, they have found something they love to devote themselves to. yes its a bit nerdy, and can be very time consuming, but it make our little planet quite interesting.

  4. […] Lego related things online: stop frame videos, music video, famous movie scenes, (I even found a Lego version of the Bible); I’m not quite sure why, but I guess it makes me somewhat nostalgic. A friend just shared a […]

Leave a Reply

