Valentines Day

I was meant to write this up yesterday, but as time flew by the night got dark and sleep gradually took over. In class yesterday I was thinking about the latest movie I saw – Valentines Day. I know Valentines Day itself has come and gone (by almost 3 weeks – I’m clearer not the biggest supporter of the corny Hallmark holiday) but I only saw the movie earlier this week.

I remember seeing the trailer for the first time and being so excited and immediately putting it on my list of movies-i-need-to-see-as-soon-as-they-are-released, knowing full well that it was going to be just like Love Actually in USA [vs. UK] and on Valentines Day [instead of Christmas]. But because Love Actually was so incredible – things were looking up that Valentines Day might meet the bar, especially with their outstanding line-up of cast members! See, I love watching trailers, they’re possibly one of the best parts of the movie experience but I just hate it when the trailer is better than the movie itself. Or when most of the funny parts are in the trailer. I found this movie a guilty culprit.

The movie itself was cute, but personally found it a bit of a let down. Yes, the cast were fantastic – but not necessarily due to their acting in this specific film. The reason we were all rushing to see this (aside for the fact it was a cushy-love movie being released the weekend of Valentines Day) is because we were fans of each castmemebers work. But this was nothing special.

The storyline was nothing new in the scope of the romantic comedy (in all honesty, I’m not sure why I expected things to be different). [SPOILER] We could see that Jennifer Garners character would fall for Ashton Kutcher; you see, I dont even remember any of the characters names, they’re just preceded by the actors

Another thing I found in the movie is that they just kinda stuffed famous people inside it without really thinking. Like the more famous actors, the better the movie…errrrm – not so, eh. There were so many characters that each of their stories were kinda kept short. From what I remember, Love Actually didnt have as many characters which kept their stories more detailed. And that most of them were couples made it easier to keep track of.

So in all, I think the movie was cute. It wasn’t painful to sit through. But no need to go see it again. Best part was deff the fact that there was a large box of smarties in our box of popcorn, as opposed to the usual smaller box. This resulted in us grabbing more handfuls of smarties than popcorn – yum. Now THAT, I recommendπŸ˜‰

2 comments on “Valentines Day

  1. Greg says:

    those smarties were the indeed a great addition and come highly recommended!

  2. Eden says:

    I actaully found the movie to veer from the usual typical ‘romantic comedy’ and actaully really enjoyed it. I see your point however, as those too were my original thoughts on the movie. no smarties in my box though… *sniff*πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

